SBU News
SBU News > Arts & Entertainment > Tickets on Sale for Upcoming Staller Center Season

Tickets on Sale for Upcoming Staller Center Season

Julian sands
Julian Sands
Julian Sands becomes the voice of playwright Harold Pinter on October 24 (photo by Baldur Bragason)

A unique collection of world-renowned entertainers will perform at Staller Center during the upcoming year. “One of many shows that will undoubtedly be popular is a touring production of Mel Brooks’ Tony Award winning musical The Producers, scheduled for November 21, 2015,” said Staller Center Director Alan Inkles. “We know that newcomers to Staller Center as well as regulars will enjoy a Broadway theatrical treat of pure fun.”

The esteemed Emerson String Quartet brings an all Haydn and Beethoven program to start off the season on October 7. Jazz by Arturo Sandoval follows in a sold-out show on October 10, and what is sure to be another crowd-pleaser, “Solid Soul” with Mavis Staples and Joan Osborne on October 30, follows on the Main Stage.

“Rock the Ballet” starring Rasta Thomas’ Bad Boys of Dance on October 17 brings exhilarating dance, pumped-up music and eye-popping video to the Staller Center Main Stage. Theater and film enthusiasts have the rare opportunity to see the one-man show in the intimate Recital Hall, Julian Sands in “A Celebration of Harold Pinter” on October 24, directed by John Malkovich. Sands becomes the voice of Harold Pinter, the Nobel-prize winning playwright.

A bargain-priced family show of magic, Nelson Illusions “Smoke and Mystery,” comes to Staller Center on November 1 with a Victorian steampunk theme using effects rarely seen outside of Las Vegas.

Starry Nights on November 6 has become a popular chamber music tradition at Staller Center, featuring artists in residence. Professor and cellist Colin Carr produces this program twice a season. November’s Starry Nights will include the Brahms String Sextet and a jazz trumpet set.

Bollywood Masala Orchestra and Dancers of India in “The Spirit of India” on November 13 features 17 musicians and dancers presenting a lively musical journey from Rajasthan to Mumbai. Storm Large, a cabaret star and a singer in the group Pink Martini, draws on her album, Le Bonheur, bringing interpretations of the Great American Songbook and other love songs to the audience on November 14. A laugh-out-loud Broadway show on tour, The Producers brings outrageous, spectacular theater to the stage on November 21.

Emerson String Quartet on December 4 bookends the fall season with an all Haydn and Beethoven program once again, in a classical concert by one of the most consistently exciting string ensembles of our time.

For tickets and information on the entire 2015-2016 season, please visit www.stallercenter.com or call the Staller Center Box Office at (631) 632-ARTS. The Box Office is open for sales Monday to Saturday, 12 pm to 6 pm, and one hour before performances.

Season at a Glance
Emerson String Quartet, Wednesday, October 7, 2015, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $48

Arturo Sandoval, Saturday, October 10, 2015, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $42 (sold out)

Rock the Ballet starring Rasta Thomas’ Bad Boys of Dance, Saturday, October 17, 2015, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $42

Julian Sands in “A Celebration of Harold Pinter” Saturday, October 24, 2015, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $38

Solid Soul featuring Mavis Staples and Joan Osborne, Friday, October 30, 2015, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $48

Nelson Illusions Magic Show Sunday, November 1, 2015, 4 pm, Main Stage, tickets $20

Starry Nights, Friday, November 6, 2015, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $36

Bollywood Masala Orchestra and Dancers of India Friday, November 13, 2015, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $42

Storm Large, Saturday, November 14, 2015, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $38

The Producers, Saturday, November 21, 2015, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $52

Emerson String Quartet, Friday, December 4, 2015, 8 pm, Recital Hall, $48

Mummenschanz, Sunday, January 31, 2016, 7 pm, Main Stage, tickets $42

Paul Reiser, Saturday, February 6, 2016, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $48

Moon for the Misbegotten: Walnut Street Theatre, Saturday, February 13, 2016, 8 pm, Main Stage, $36

Aulos Ensemble: The Bach Connection, Sunday, February 21, 2016, 7 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $38

Aulos Ensemble: An Afternoon with the Bach Family, Sunday, February 21, 2016, 4 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $20

Gala 2016 with Natalie Cole, Saturday, March 5, 2016, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $75

Starry Nights, Tuesday, March 8, 2016, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $36

Buckwheat Zydeco, Saturday, March 12, 2016, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $42

Berenstain Bears Live! in Family Matters the Musical, Sunday, March 13, 2016, 4 pm, Main Stage, tickets $20

The Doo Wop Project, Saturday, March 19, 2016, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $42

Emerson String Quartet, Tuesday, April 5, 2016, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $48

“Tribute to Judy Garland” with Hilary Kole, Saturday, April 9, 2016, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $42

Company Finzi Pasca presents La Verità Saturday, April 16, 2016, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $42

Calidore Quartet with guests the Emerson Quartet, Wednesday, May 4, 2016, 8 pm, Recital Hall, tickets $36

Paul Taylor Dance Company, Saturday, May 7, 2016, 8 pm, Main Stage, tickets $42

In addition to live performances, the Metropolitan Opera Live in high-definition is screened in the Main Stage Theatre throughout the season:
Il Trovatore  (Verdi) Sunday, October 4, 1 pm
Otello (Verdi) Sunday, October 25, 1 pm
Tannhäuser (Wagner) Saturday, October 31, 12 pm
Lulu (Berg) Sunday, November 22, 12:30 pm
Les Pêcheurs de Perles (Bizet) Saturday, January 16, 1 pm
Turandot (Puccini) Saturday, January 30, 1 pm
Manon Lescaut (Puccini) Sunday, March 6, 1 pm
Madama Butterfly (Puccini) Sunday, April 3, 1 pm
Roberto Devereux (Donizetti) Sunday, April 17, 6 pm
Elektra (Strauss) Saturday, May 14, 7 pm

Tickets: $22 general admission, $20 seniors (62+), $15 students

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Archives

SBU on Instagram