SBU News
SBU News > Academics > College of Arts & Sciences > SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence Honor 23 Faculty and Staff

SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence Honor 23 Faculty and Staff

Featured campusTwenty-three members of Stony Brook University’s faculty and staff have received the 2021-2022 State University of New York (SUNY) Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence.

The awards acknowledge the dedication and accomplishments of instructional faculty, librarians and professional staff across SUNY campuses and encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. These programs underscore SUNY’s commitment to sustaining intellectual vibrancy, advancing the boundaries of knowledge, providing the highest quality of instruction and serving the public good.

The awards provide SUNY-wide recognition in five categories: Faculty Service, Librarianship, Professional Service, Scholarship and Creative Activities, and Teaching.

“I am always heartened when I see the list of our talented faculty and staff who are honored with the SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence,” said President Maurie McInnis. “The tireless approach they take to their work in higher education, their collaborative efforts, and their dedication to our students and community are a reflection of the difference they make at Stony Brook. I am proud to be colleagues with the 23 honorees, and offer them my heartfelt congratulations.”

The following are this year’s honorees:

Faculty Service

Todd Griffin, Chair, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Medicine
Kevin Moriarty, Assistant Professor, Department of Technology and Society
Madeline Turan, Lecturer, Department of Languages and Cultural Studies


Jessica Koos, Librarian, Health Sciences Center Library

Professional Service

Mary Jean Allen, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, Renaissance School of Medicine
Jin Bentley, Lead Business and Grant Manager, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Firat Coskun, HPC Architect, Institute for Advanced Computational Science
Paula Di Pasquale-Alvarez, Director of Curriculum, College of Arts and Sciences
Jacqueline Donnelly, Assistant to the Chair, Department of Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Kim Knoll, Staff Assistant, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Lori Lyons, Director of Records and Admissions, School of Professional Development
Smita Majumdar Das, Director, Center for Prevention and Outreach
Marie Turchiano, Director of Recreation and Wellness, Division of Student Affairs

Scholarship and Creative Activities

Lisa Diedrich, Chair, Department of Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Jeffrey Heinz, Professor, Department of Linguistics
Jin Wang, Professor, Department of Chemistry
Erez Zadok, Professor, Department of Computer Science
Ismail Zahed, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy


Jiwon Hwang, Senior Lecturer, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies
Susan Larson, Chair, Department of Anatomical Sciences
April Masten, Associate Professor, Department of History
Douglas Pfeiffer, Associate Professor, Department of English
Kaveh Sadigh, Assistant Professor, Cardiology, Department of Medicine

Related Posts

1 comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.