SBU News
SBU News > Awards and Honors > SBU Police Officers Receive 2022 SUNY University Police Awards

SBU Police Officers Receive 2022 SUNY University Police Awards

Sbu police car

Sbu police carSeveral Stony Brook University police officers are recipients of the State University of New York (SUNY) 2022 University Police Awards, the highest recognition by the SUNY Police Chiefs Association. The annual awards honor lieutenants, officers and staff for their heroic efforts and bravery on campus as well as their professionalism.

“On behalf of the hundreds of thousands of students and employees who meet on our campuses each day, we thank our officers and staff for their service in keeping us safe,” said SUNY Interim Chancellor Deborah F. Stanley. “The winners announced today are role models among their peers and the entire SUNY community, and, in some cases, have put aside their own safety to protect us. They have our utmost respect and our congratulations for what they have achieved.”

“I continue to be enormously proud of the great work our University police officers do everyday,” said Lawrence Zacarese, vice president for Enterprise Risk Management and chief security officer at Stony Brook University. “These are just a few examples of the extraordinary effort, dedication and commitment to service that they all share. Policing in higher education requires a level of professionalism that is not often seen in different areas of law enforcement. Stony Brook University police officers distinguished themselves on a regular basis and these honorees exemplify this level of excellence.”

The following awards were presented to Stony Brook University Police:

The Life Saving Award is presented to any member of the New York State University Police who directly aids in saving someone’s life. This year’s awardees include Lieutenant David Bratisax and Officers Jasmin Agha, Bettina Bubb, Darrell Goens, Daniel Pilero and Pasquale Primerano.

The Heroism Award recognizes members for acts of exceptional bravery performed at very high risk to their own lives with full awareness of the danger involved. This year’s honor was awarded to Officer Frank Mendyk.

The Professional Service Award recognizes members for acts that greatly enhance the operation of their respective University Police Departments. This year’s awardees are Senior Investigator Stephen Kiefer, Inspector Kathleen Galvin, and Officers Joseph Bica Jr., Curtis Hoover, Jared King, Scott Rodriguez, Peter Thomson and Dawn Whitmarsh.

“As police officers, we look forward to this event each year and cherish the opportunities it provides us to honor these outstanding awardees,” said University Police Commissioner Mary Ritayik. “It is a moment to reflect on what it means to be a University Police Officer and be inspired by the heroes within our police force. I have had the privilege of working with so many collaborative officers throughout my career, and now, as their commissioner, I am honored to celebrate them and their work.”

Related Posts

1 comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Always proud to have been a Stony Brook PD Lt. for 29 plus yrs during by 35 plus yrs of Service to the Stony Brook University Community

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.