SBU News
SBU News > Academics > College of Arts & Sciences > Christopher Johnson Awarded $750K from DOE Early Career Research Program

Christopher Johnson Awarded $750K from DOE Early Career Research Program

Johnson chris
Johnson chris
Christopher Johnson, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry.

Christopher Johnson, an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences, is one of 83 scientists who have been selected to receive a total of $100 million in funding from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Early Career Research Program.

Johnson will receive $150,000 a year over five years for his research, “Tracking the Mechanisms of Catalytic Reactions on LigandProtected Gold Nanoclusters.”

“I am beyond thrilled at this latest federal investment in Chris’ research program,” said Nicole S. Sampson, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and distinguished professor of chemistry. “His extraordinarily creative, cross-disciplinary and impactful science will lead to breakthroughs in catalysis at the highest order of understanding.”

“Chris Johnson is an outstanding member of our Department,” said Peter J. Tonge, distinguished professor and chair, Department of Chemistry. “He continues to excel in each pillar of academic life – research, teaching and service. The DOE Early Career Award is recognition that his research program is at the forefront of scientific discovery.”

The Early Career Research Program, now in its 12th year, is funded by DOE’s Office of Science and supports exceptional scientists during the crucial years when many do their most formative work in the agency’s priority research areas. These awards are part of the DOE’s efforts to support critical research at the nation’s universities and national labs, grow a skilled STEM workforce, and cement America as a global leader in science and innovation.

“Maintaining our nation’s brain trust of world-class scientists and researchers is one of DOE’s top priorities — and that means we need to give them the resources they need to succeed early on in their careers,” said Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm. “These awardees show exceptional potential to help us tackle America’s toughest challenges and secure our economic competitiveness for decades to come.”

The awardees represent 41 universities and 11 DOE National Laboratories in 32 states. University-based researchers will receive grants for $150,000 per year, and researchers based at DOE National Labs will receive grants for $500,000 per year. Research grants are distributed over five years and will cover salary and research expenses.

To be eligible for Early Career Research Program awards, a researcher must be an untenured, tenure-track assistant or associate professor at a U.S. academic institution, or a full-time employee at a DOE National Lab, who received a PhD within the past 10 years. Awardees were selected based on peer review by outside scientific experts.

A list of the 83 awardees, their institutions and titles of research projects is available on the Early Career Research Program webpage.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.