SBU News
SBU News > Awards and Honors > CELT Presents 2023 Celebration of Teaching Awards

CELT Presents 2023 Celebration of Teaching Awards

Cot award winners
Cot award winners
2023 Celebration of Teaching Award winners Sandra Kim, Srinivas Pentyala, Jeannie Guglielmo, Samuel Disotell and Janet Hearing. Not pictured: Omar Badessi, Jason Lewis and Tracey Walters.

Educators Honored During First-Year Student Convocation

Each year, the Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT) acknowledges the efforts of Stony Brook University educators who embody exceptional teaching practices, dispositions and proficiencies with the CELT Celebration of Teaching Award.

These instructors are role models who display outstanding passion for teaching, personal concern for students, and devotion to inspire and nurture a learning desire in their students.

On August 23, Provost and Executive Vice President Carl Lejuez presented the 2023 CELT Celebration of Teaching Award Winners during the First-Year Student Convocation:

  • Excellence in Teaching an In-Person Course – Srinivas Pentyala, Anesthesiology
  • Excellence in Teaching an Online Course – Omar Badessi, Hispanic Languages and Literature 
  • Excellence in Assessment – Jeannine Guglielmo, Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • Excellence in Inclusive Teaching – Sandra So Hee Chi Kim, Asian and Asian American Studies
  • Excellence in Accessible Teaching – Jason Lewis, Anthropology
  • Excellence in Teaching Innovation – Janet Hearing, Microbiology and Immunology
  • Excellence in Experiential Education – Tracey Walters, Africana Studies
  • Teaching Assistant Award – Samuel Disotell, Anthropology

The Provost’s Outstanding Lecturer Award recognizes the university’s appreciation of a faculty member’s significant and ongoing contribution to the missions of the university. This is an accolade granted to a full-time lecturer at Stony Brook University, based on significant contributions to the university, as evidenced by the quality of the individual’s teaching, service and related professional development. This year, the award was given to Tony Scarlatos, Computer Science.

Congratulations to all of the awardees!


Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.