Stony Brook Matters

Peter Stephens Named 2019 Barrett Award Recipient

Peter Stephens
Peter Stephens
Peter Stephens

The International Center for Diffraction Data (ICDD) has named Department of Physics and Astronomy Professor Peter Stephens the 18th recipient of the Barrett Award, a biennial award that recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of powder diffraction. The award was presented to Professor Stephens at the recent Plenary Session of the Denver X-ray Conference. 

Joining Stony Brook in 1980, Professor Stephens has taught courses ranging from “Physics of Musical Sound” to “Graduate Electrodynamics,” and supervised eight PhD theses. He recently served as the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Facilities in the College of Arts and Sciences. 

Established in 1986, the Barrett Award is named after Charles Barrett, a pioneering X-ray metallurgist who was instrumental in advancing the use of X-ray diffractometry to characterize metals and alloys at the atomic level. 

The International Center for Diffraction Data is a non-profit scientific organization dedicated to collecting, editing, publishing, and distributing powder diffraction data for the identification of materials. The membership of the ICDD consists of worldwide representation from academe, government, and industry. 

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Career Corner

Alumni Career Services offers a variety of lifetime career services, tools, and resources to help you in making lifelong career decisions. Whether you have recently graduated, are looking to enhance your skills and training, or are ready to make a career change, find help here on career exploration and growth, job hunting, networking and educational events, and ways to get involved. 

Learn More


  • Tabler Barn 108
  • Senior Year Paul M 1970-1 - 029
  • 1970-1971
  • Bridge to Nowhere 1970-1 - 036
  • Senior Year Harvey L 1970-1 - 031
  • 1970-1971
  • Bridge to Nowhere 1970-1 - 034
  • 1970-1971
  • 1970-1971