This summer Stony Brook Southampton’s iconic windmill reopened with a special celebration and dedication. The main room in the windmill was named the Glanz-Marmion Room in honor of the late Edward C. Glanz, founding provost of LIU-Southampton, 1963-1972; and the late Harry Marmion, former president of LIU-Southampton, 1972-1980. Both the Glanz and Marmion families were in attendance for the event, along with Class of 1968 LIU-Southampton alumnus Bob Martin, chair of Stony Brook Southampton’s new Dean’s Council, along with numerous other alumni.
Speakers included former Stony Brook University President Shirley Strum Kenny, Stony Brook Southampton Dean and Vice President Mary C. Pearl, Congressman Tim Bishop, and Assemblyman Fred Thiele. The former manager of the restoration, Lou Spero, who passed away earlier this year in an auto accident, was also remembered.
With a campus focus on environmental sustainability, the windmill—constructed in the early 1700s and moved from Southampton Village to its present location in 1890 as part of the former Claflin estate—is an important symbol of preservation and renewable energy. New blades were installed and the inside restored. The building, featuring ornate woodwork and two hearths, is now available for meetings and special events.
This famous windmill even hosted Tennessee Williams at one point, where he wrote several of his plays. As well, it is featured on the cover of the book Haunted Long Island.
For the event Stony Brook Southampton also re-published the 1969 brochure, “The Story of the College Windmill: An Affectionate History,” by then-president Glanz with a forward by Jeanette Edwards Rattray.