SBU News
SBU News > On Campus > Students Honored at Undergraduate Recognition Awards

Students Honored at Undergraduate Recognition Awards

Ug recognition awrds 12 1
UG Recognition Awrds 12
Chancellor's Award recipients (photo by Sam Levitan)

The 30th Annual Undergraduate Recognition Awards ceremony was held in the Student Activities Center on Monday, April 23, 2012. Following a welcome and opening remarks by Vice President for Student Affairs Peter Baigent and Stony Brook University President Samuel L. Stanley Jr., MD, the Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence, Provost Awards for Academic Excellence and Undergraduate Recognition Awards were announced by Charles Robbins, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean of the Undergraduate Colleges, and Jerrold L. Stein, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students. Several Specialized Area Awards were also presented, and a reception followed.

SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence
This award is given annually to a very select number of graduating seniors who have demonstrated, and been recognized for, the integration of academic excellence with accomplishments in the areas of leadership, athletics, community service, creative and performing arts or career achievement. This year’s winners include Kenneth Ascher, Denise DeGennaro, Caroline Dwyer, Yaseen Eldik, Matthew Graham, Hayley Green, Sean Hoffman, Henna Kochar, Kiran Lorick, Deborah Machalow, Priya Misra, Hillary Moss, Muntazim Mukit, and Ioan Alin Tomescu Nicolescu.

Provost Awards for Academic Excellence
This award is given annually to a very select number of graduating seniors who have shown true academic excellence, not just in the classroom, but in other ways as well, in research or creative activities, or in building an academic community. This year’s winners include Kenneth Ascher, Yaseen Eldik, Sean Fitzgerald, Niya Grozeva, Sean Hoffman, Jennifer Jung, Rajeev Masson, James Meehan, Hillary Moss, Muntazim Mukit, Sasha Seroy, Tanya Tingarova, and Jinzhu (Cookie) Yu.

Undergraduate Recognition Awards for Excellence and Outstanding Achievement
These awards for Academic Excellence, Leadership, Community Service and Athletics are bestowed upon students who have significant accomplishments above and beyond the requirements of their academic degree programs.

Academic Excellence: Students whose passion for learning has extended beyond the classroom, demonstrated, for example, by excellence in research, internship or creative activity. This year’s award recipients include Kirolos Abdel Sayed, Sruti Akella, Anthony Antonelli, Kenneth Ascher, Kyle Buescher, Karen Bulaklak, Emily Cooper, Hysem Eldik, Yaseen Eldik, Sean Fitzgerald, Ruth Gillespie, Mohammad Halaibeh, Malack Hamade, Stephanie Hayman, Sean Hoffman, Shiou Mei Huang, Sumaiya Iqbal, Shirin Jaggi, Christina Johnson, Noel Joseph, Jennifer Jung, Henna Kochar, Stephen Lee, Olesya Levsh, Kiran Lorick, Deborah Machalow, Lauren Maloney, Yogeeta Mangal, Marcela Maxfield, James Meehan, Priya Misra, Hillary Moss, Muntazim Mukit, Polina Pinkhasova, Jaime Poynter, Ahmad Rafiqi, Ilyse Raziano, Kevin Sackel, Sasha Seroy, Ioan Alin Tomescu Nicolescu, Jerome Varriale, Lourdes Vazquez, Jean Claude Velasquez, William Young, Jinzhu Yu, and Ze Zhang.

Leadership: Students who have assumed leadership roles in a variety of University organizations, including societies, clubs, sororities, fraternities and associations. This year’s award recipients include Pierre Albert, Edrees Arzomand, Anna Cheng, Jaclynn Chen, Wanda Chen, Niya Grozeva, Farha Islam, Kekelly Ketemepi, Samantha Lal, Kristina Mancaruso, Shabeen Rehman, Lorena Rozo, Alexandra Rozo, Caitlin Smith, Jacqueline Smith, Christopher Weber, and Paul Willms.

Community Service: Students who have given generously of their time, serving in various capacities, for the benefit of the University and surrounding community. This year’s award recipients include Michael Coulter, Katherine Heads, Susan McHugh, Komal Mistry, Nehal Shah, Harleen Singh, Domingo Templonuevo, and Ancy Thomas.

Athletics: Students who have achieved a high level of athletic performance. This year’s award recipients include Prerana Appineni, Michael Bamiro, Robert Campbell, Patrick Cantwell, William Carmona, Jonathan Coats, Jawara Dudley, Kyle Essington, Hayley Green, Brock Jackolski, Tyler Johnson, Nino Lagvilava, Jared Leverne, Miguel Maysonet, Brandon McNitt, Salome Mkervalidze, Kyle Moeller, Alicia Nelson, Evann Slaughter, and Eric Speakman.

Specialized Area Awards
William and Teresa Meyer Award for Asian and Middle Eastern Studies: William Strayer
This award is presented annually to a deserving student who has excelled in Asian or Middle Eastern Studies.

First Alumni Award: Frederick I. Ikpatt
This scholarship is awarded to a full-time sophomore or junior who personifies the pioneering spirit of the many alumni of the Founder’s Group. Preference is given to promising students who are the first members of their immediate families to pursue a college education.

Outstanding Future Alumni Award: Hillary C. Moss
This award is given to high-achieving students who have demonstrated excellence in academic performance and community service, and have made valuable contributions to the University community.

Alumni Association Legacy Award: Sarah Khan
This award is given to children of Stony Brook alumni who demonstrate academic success and leadership in the campus community.

Babak Movahedi Senior Leadership Award: Juliana Perez
Established by Babak Movahedi ’82, this award is presented to graduating seniors who have made a significant change in the University environment by bringing together various constituencies through the development of community life.

Joseph N. Campolo Award for Legal Studies: Yaseen Eldik
Established by Joseph N. Campolo, Esq. ’94, this award is presented to students preparing to enter the practice of law who have demonstrated a commitment to public service.

Scott Middleton Student Athletic Alumni Award: Larissa A. Nysch
Established by Scott D. Middleton, Esq. ’84, this award is presented to high-achieving students who participate in one of Stony Brook’s intercollegiate NCAA Division I athletic teams.

Larry Roher Entrepreneurial Achievement Award: Patrick J. Fava
Established by Larry Roher ’79, this award is presented to undergraduates who have served in managerial and leadership roles either on or off campus, or have pursued entrepreneurial and innovative programs or activities.

Gloria and Mark Snyder Award of Excellence: Kristina M. Mancaruso
Established by Gloria Snyder ’72 and Mark Snyder ’69, this award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated academic and leadership skills, and are studying for careers in business or finance.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.