SBU News
SBU News > On Campus > Nominations for SUNY Honorary Degrees: Deadline April 27

Nominations for SUNY Honorary Degrees: Deadline April 27

Faculty, staff and students should submit their nominations for SUNY Honorary Degrees to be awarded in 2013. Please submit a one-page summary about the nominee, identifying the nominee by name, title, present position and/or profession. The remainder of the page should summarize the nominee’s most important achievements and the relevance of these achievements to Stony Brook’s mission.

Nominations should be sent to Rayna Simon at the Graduate School, Zip=4433 or The deadline for submission
is Friday, April 27, 2012.

To obtain further information, a complete list of past SUNY or Stony Brook honorary degree recipients, or a set of the guidelines adopted by the Board of Trustees, please contact Rayna at (631) 632-7401.

The purposes of honorary degrees awarded by the State University of New York are:

• To recognize excellence in the fields of public affairs, the sciences, humanities and the arts, scholarship and education, business and philanthropy, and social services, which exemplify the mission and purposes of the State University of New York;

• To honor meritorious and outstanding service to the University, the State of New York, the United States, or to humanity at large;

• To recognize persons whose lives serve as examples of the University’s aspirations for its students.

The chair of the Committee on Honorary Degrees is Charles Taber, interim dean of the Graduate School, and the committee members are: Professor Carol A. Carter, Microbiology; Professor Diane Doran-Sheehy, Anthropology; Dennis Assanis, Provost; Associate Professor Robert N. Reeves, English and Director of SB Southampton MFA in Writing and Literature; Distinguished Professor Rolf Sternglanz, Biochemistry; Dexter Bailey, Vice President of Advancement; Dr. A. Laurie Shroyer, Vice Chair of Research and Professor, Department of Surgery, Assistant Dean for Education Research; Dr. Kathlyn Parker, Professor Chemistry; Dr. William Jungers, Distinguished Teaching Professor and Chairman, Department of Anatomical Sciences; Associate Professor Scott Sutherland, Mathematics; Adil Hussain, Undergraduate Student Representative, and Tomasz Bakowski, Graduate Student Representative.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.