SBU News
SBU News > Newsroom > Press Release > Faculty/Student Awards > Department of Chemistry Wins Safety Award

Department of Chemistry Wins Safety Award

Internet chemistrysafeyaward15

Department of Chemistry Wins Safety Award

Professor Surita Bhatia accepts the 2015 CCR University Safety Award on behalf of the Department of Chemistry from Jeffrey Reimer, Chair of CCR

STONY BROOK, N.Y., May 8, 2015 – The Stony Brook University Department of Chemistry is the 2015 recipient of the Council for Chemical Research (CCR) University Safety Award. The award is presented to an academic department engaged in chemical research that has demonstrated significant progress in creating a culture of safety. The Department was presented with the award at the CCR Annual Meeting on May 6 in Alexandria, Va.

“Our faculty, staff and students have worked hard to create an environment that continuously fosters safety at every level of research and laboratory instruction,” said Nicole S. Simpson, PhD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemistry. “Through these efforts we have built a strong safety of culture in our department.”

Dr. Sampson added that the department has brought safety awareness and practices to its highest level, with particular support from Stony Brook’s Department of Environmental Health and Safety, and with the leadership of Sandhya Muralidharan and Surita Bhatia, who spearheaded the initiatives that led to the award, and Deborah Stoner-Ma, Stanislaus Wong, Charmine Yapchin and Kim Gates, who along with other faculty, staff and students  initiated an updated safety culture transformation several years ago.




Greg Filiano

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.