SBU News
SBU News > Newsroom > Press Release > General > Two SBU Professors Elected AAAS Fellows

Two SBU Professors Elected AAAS Fellows


Two SBU Professors Elected AAAS Fellows

Erwin London and Clinton Rubin to be honored for contributions to science and society

Dr. Clinton Rubin and his lab team

STONY BROOK, N.Y., November 25, 2014 – TwoStony Brook University Professors – Erwin London and Clinton Rubin – have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for their efforts advancing science or its applications. Professors London and Rubin are among the 401 AAAS members elevated to the rank of Fellow who will be honored at the Fellows Forum held during the AAAS Annual Meeting in February 2015 in San Jose, Calif. This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced at the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on the November 28, 2014.

Erwin London 

“This year’s selection of two internationally recognized Stony Brook scholars is indicative of the tremendous impact they have in their respective science fields,” said Stony Brook University President Samuel L. Stanley Jr., MD. “Professors London and Rubin join the growing ranks of Stony Brook’s AAAS fellows, and their work exemplifies one of Stony Brook’s strengths, the broad field of biomedical research.”

Erwin London, PhD, Professor in the Department of Chemistry and the Department Biochemistry and Cell Biology, was elected as a Fellow in the Section of Biological Sciences for distinguished contributions to the field of biomembrane structure and function, particularly to the understanding of membrane lipid organization and membrane protein folding.

Dr. London’s research at Stony Brook currently concentrates upon the role of cholesterol in membrane structure and infection. For more on Dr. London’s research and scholarly work, see this webpage.

Clinton Rubin, PhD, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, and Director of the Center for Biotechnology, was elected as a Fellow in the Section of Engineering for distinguished academic contributions in biomedical engineering and for fostering and promoting the role of technology to the field of medicine.

The research of Dr. Rubin and his laboratory focuses on understanding the cellular mechanisms responsible for the growth, healing and homeostatsis of bone. Their research tests how biophysical stimuli, such as mechanical, electrical or ultrasound, mediate these responses to improve bone health and growth and as a potential treatment of osteoporosis. The lab also looks at how mechanical signals bias the fate selection of mesenchymal and hematopoietic stem cells, as a means of treating obesity and diabetes through developmental rather than metabolic pathways. For more on Dr. Rubin’s research and scholarly work, see this webpage.

Clinton Rubin

“Dr. Rubin’s work has had a tremendous impact on biomedical research on a global scale, with innovations that have sparked outstanding research related to diseases that affect millions, such as obesity, diabetes, and osteoporosis,” said Kenneth Kaushansky, MD, Senior Vice President for the Health Sciences and Dean of the School of Medicine. “His election as an AAAS fellow is well deserved, and we look forward to continued progress within his department and the Center for Biotechnology.”

“As Provost, I am especially proud that these two Stony Brook University Professors were granted this renowned distinction, of which they are both well-deserving,” said Dennis N. Assanis, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs. “Dr. London, a Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology and Dr. Rubin, a SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair of our Department of Biomedical Engineering, are notable scientists within their respective fields and help to make our research university a great place for learning and discovery.”

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.


Reporter Contact: 
Alida Almonte
University Media Relations Manager

Follow us on Twitter @sbunewsdesk

Related Posts

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.