SBU News
SBU News > Academics > Graduate School > 2021 Graduate School Award Winners

2021 Graduate School Award Winners

The winners of the 2021 Graduate School Awards for students, faculty and staff represent the very best of Stony Brook. “We received many impressive applicants, all deserving of these awards, which made the committee’s work very challenging,” said Eric Wertheimer, dean and vice provost of the Graduate School. “Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations.”

This year’s Selection Committee included David Green, Applied Mathematics & Statistics; Todd Pittinsky, Technology & Society; Markus Seeliger, Pharmacology; Michael French, SoMAS; Michael Tondre, English; Lauren Richmond, Psychology; Surita Bhatia, Chemistry and Hongshik Ahn, Graduate Council.

All awards will be highlighted at the Graduate School’s Annual Awards Virtual Celebration.

President’s Award to Distinguished Doctoral Students

Meghan Buckley, English
Xujia Chen, Mathematics
Sebastian Dick, Physics
Sindhuja Tirumalai Govindarajan, Biomedical Engineering
Jonathan Rawski, Linguistics

President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Student

Marybeth Apriceno, Psychology
Jack Burkart, Mathematics
Moisés Hassan, Hispanic Languages and Literature
Delicia Kamins, Philosophy
Bernard Krumm, English
Emma Talis, Applied Mathematics & Statistics

Stony Brook Foundation Trustees Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Jessica Kim, Sociology
Katharine Thompson, Interdepartmental Doctoral Program in Anthropological Sciences

Madeline Fusco Fellowship Award

Stephanie Bonvissuto, Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Faculty-Staff Dissertation Fellowship Award

Annu Daftuar, Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies

John Marburger III Fellowship for Science, Engineering and Mathematics

Adelle Molina, Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

John Dunn Excellence Award in Life Sciences

Kenneth Davidson, Ecology & Evolution
Dedi Yang, Ecology & Evolution

Dean’s Alumni Association Leadership Award

Zared Shawver, Psychology

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentoring by a Faculty Member 

Kathleen Vernon, Hispanic Languages and Literature

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching by a Faculty Member

John Bailyn, Linguistics

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service by a Graduate Program Director

Mary Rawlinson, Philosophy

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service to Graduate Education by a Graduate Program Coordinator

Theresa Spadola, English

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.