SBU News
SBU News > Awards and Honors > Faculty and Staff Recognized at Annual University Awards Dinner

Faculty and Staff Recognized at Annual University Awards Dinner

Photo a 151006 awards dinner 115 approved1

Earlier this October, President Samuel L. Stanley, Jr., MD, honored faculty and staff for their accomplishments at the annual University Awards Dinner, held in the Student Activities Center Ballroom B. The event is held to recognize faculty appointments to Distinguished Professorships, State University of New York Chancellor’s Award Recipients and Presidential Mini-Grant Recipients.

The 2015 University Awardees

Distinguished Professorships
Stony Brook, NY; Stony Brook University: Award dinner in the Student Activity Center at Stony Brook University. (10/6/15) APPROVED
President Stanley (far right) with this year’s Distinguished Professors (left to right): Dennis Assanis, Nancy Tomes, Robert Lazrsfeld and Distinguished Service Professor David Bynum (Erwin London was unable to attend).

David Bynum, Biochemistry and Cell Biology, Distinguished Service Professor

And the four latest SUNY Distinguished Professors:

Dennis Assanis, Mechanical Engineering

Robert Lazrsfeld, Mathematics

Erwin London, Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Nancy Tomes, History

Mini-Grant Recipients
President Stanely (center) with this year’s Mini-Grant Recipients.
President Stanley (center) with this year’s Mini-Grant Recipients.

Margarethe Adams, Performing Musical Diversity

Jeffrey Barnett, Diversity Certificate Program: Developing Student, Faculty and Staff Multicultural Competency

Peggy Spitzer Christoff, Cross-Cultural Studies of Asian and Asian American Groups on Long Island

Francisco Colon, Flex: Formative Learning Experiences

Crystal M. Fleming, Mindfulness and Diversity: A Research Forum to Enhance Awareness and Improve Minority Health at Stony Brook and Beyond

Alfreda S. James, Initiate Success in the American Workplace — a Career Development Project for International Students

Keith Johnston, Interactive Musical Concerts for US Military Veterans in the Long Island State Veterans Home

Annie J. Rohan, The First Available Dental Appointment is Next Year

Toni Sperzel, Mentoring African American Male PhD Scholars in STEM: Lessons Learned from 15 Years of Community Support Through the Center for Inclusive Education

Tracey Walters, Recognizing Diversity: The LBGTQ Experience in Communities of Color

Donna M. Woodruff, You Can Play Initiative

SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence

For Excellence in Classified Service: Jenille Johnson, Economics; Dennis Ryan, West Campus Operations and Maintenance; and Gabe Zahralban, Southampton Campus Operations and Maintenance.

For Excellence in Professional Service: Megan Alberti, Anthropology; Margaret Hanley, English; Nina Maung-Gaona, The Graduate School; Mary Moran-Luba, Cultural Analysis and Theory; and Hedieh Resciniti, Student Activities

For Excellence in Faculty Service: J. Peter Gergen, Biochemistry and Cell Biology; Gary Mar, Philosophy; and Anne Moyer, Psychology

For Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities: Robert Shrock, Physics and Astronomy; and Peter Stephens, Physics and Astronomy

For Excellence in Teaching: Michael Bender, Computer Sciences; and Andrew Wackett, Emergency Medicine.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.