SBU News
SBU News > Featured Story > 15 SBU Students Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

15 SBU Students Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

Chancellors award 2014
Back row, left to right: Jean Claude Velasquez, Ali Syed, Kevin Chavez, Connor Beierle, Dara Bobb-Semple, Bryan Nguyen and Derek Cope. Front row, left to right: Kara DeSanna, Safa Abdelhakim, Neha Kinariwalla and Olivia Cheng. Not pictured: Raniah EL-Gendi, Ariana Levin, Surinder Moonga and Justin Thomas.

Fifteen students from Stony Brook University received the Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence in a ceremony at the Empire State Plaza Convention Center in Albany on April 2. SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher presented the awards to 274 SUNY students.

The Stony Brook students are: Safa Abdelhakim, Connor Beierle, Dara Bobb-Semple, Kevin Chavez, Olivia Cheng, Derek Cope, Kara DeSanna, Raniah EL-Gendi, Neha Kinariwalla, Ariana Levin, Surinder Moonga, Bryan Nguyen, Ali Syed, Justin Thomas and Jean Claude Velasquez.

“Students honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence truly embody the power of SUNY,” said Chancellor Zimpher. “As proven leaders and role models, scholar athletes, creative artists and civic volunteers, each student is recognized not just for academic achievement, but also for the profound impact they have on college campuses and local communities across New York State. Congratulations to the Stony Brook University students being recognized today.”

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence was created in 1997 to recognize students who have best demonstrated, and have been recognized for, the integration of academic excellence with accomplishments in the areas of leadership, athletics, community service, creative and performing arts, campus involvement or career achievement.

Each year, campus presidents establish a selection committee that reviews exemplary students. Nominees are then forwarded to the Chancellor’s Office and are subject to a second round of review. Finalists are then recommended to the Chancellor to become recipients of the award. Each recipient receives a framed certificate and medallion, which is traditionally worn at commencement.

Click here for a complete listing of the 2014 recipients.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.