SBU News

Robert B. Grubbs, K. Daniel O’Leary, Eliza Reilly, Steven Skiena, Esther Takeuchi and Dr. Vincent W. Wang  have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

The six Stony Brook faculty are among 416 members that have been awarded this honor in 2018 by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin on February 16, 2019, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. This year’s fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on November 29, 2018.

“This year’s election of six Stony Brook University scholars is a clear indication of the real difference they are making in their respective fields of research,” said Stony Brook University President Samuel L. Stanley Jr. “Professors Grubbs, O’Leary, Reilly, Skiena, Takeuchi and Dr. Yang have joined the distinguished ranks of Stony Brook’s AAAS Fellows, and I commend them on this well-deserved honor.”

About the Awardees

Robert Grubbs
Robert B. Grubbs

Professor Robert B. Grubbs, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences
Selected for distinguished contributions to polymer chemistry, particularly controlled polymerization methods for the design and synthesis of block copolymers capable of assembly into larger functional materials.

K/ Daniel O'leary
K. Daniel O’Leary

Distinguished Professor K. Daniel O’Leary, Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences
Selected for distinguished research on the etiology, prevention, and treatment of psychological and physical aggression between partners, particularly multivariate models of such aggression in representative samples.

Eliza Reilly
Eliza Reilly

Research Professor Eliza Reilly, Department of Technology and Society, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Selected for distinguished contributions to and leadership in promoting the integration of science and civic engagement in undergraduate STEM education through the National Center for Science and Civic Engagement, where she serves as Executive Director.

Steven Skiena
Steven Skiena

Distinguished Teaching Professor Steven Skiena, Department of Computer Science, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Selected for distinguished contributions to the fields of algorithms and data science, particularly interdisciplinary work in the biological and social sciences.

Esther Takeuchi
Esther Takeuchi

William and Jane Knapp Endowed Chair in Energy and the Environment Esther Takeuchi, Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences and Department of Materials Science and Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Selected for distinguished contributions in the area of lithium battery research with implantable applications, which have enabled the creation of several life-saving inventions.

Vincent Yang
Vincent W. Yang

Dr. Vincent W. Yang, Simons Chair of Medicine and Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Physiology and Biophysics, School of Medicine
Selected for distinguished contributions to the field of gastrointestinal physiology and pathophysiology, particularly in the areas of intestinal stem cell biology, inflammatory bowel disease and colorectal cancer.

“We are tremendously proud to have six more of our faculty join the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science,” said Stony Brook University Provost Michael Bernstein. “This impressive class of scholars exemplifies the growing excellence of our research mission. I extend my warmest congratulations to Drs. Grubbs, O’Leary, Reilly, Skiena, Takeuchi, and Yang.”

About AAAS

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science, which has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world. Founded in 1848, AAAS includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. The non-profit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, public engagement, and more.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.