SBU News
SBU News > Awards and Honors > SBU Chemistry Department Nationally Recognized for Safety

SBU Chemistry Department Nationally Recognized for Safety

Ccr safety award
Professor Surita Bhatia accepts the 2015 CCR University Safety Award on behalf of SBU’s Department of Chemistry from CCR Chair Jeffrey Reimer.

The Council for Chemical Research (CCR) has chosen the Department of Chemistry at Stony Brook University to receive the 2015 CCR University Safety Award. This award is presented to an academic department engaged in chemical research that has demonstrated significant progress in creating a culture of safety. Stony Brook University’s Chemistry Department is the second recipient of this award, which was presented at the 2015 CCR Annual Meeting in Alexandria, Virginia, on May 6.

“Kudos to the entire Chemistry Department for safely undertaking laboratory research, as well as the staff of Environmental Health and Safety, who have supported our efforts,” said Professor Nicole S. Sampson, chair of the Department of Chemistry. “In particular, specific congratulations are owed to Sandhya Muralidharan and Surita Bhatia who spearheaded the initiatives that led to the award, and to Deborah Stoner-Ma, Stanislaus Wong and Kim Gates who initiated an updated safety culture transformation several years ago.”

CCR, based in Washington, DC, was formed in 1979 to promote cooperation in basic research and encourage high-quality education in the chemical sciences and chemical engineering. Its membership includes more than 120 companies, universities and government laboratories.


Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.