SBU News
SBU News > Academics > School of Health Professions > SBU’s Nancy Krisch Wins National Physical Therapy Scholarship

SBU’s Nancy Krisch Wins National Physical Therapy Scholarship

Nancy Krisch

Nancy Krisch, clinical assistant professor in the School of Health Technology and Management’s Department of Physical Therapy, has been awarded the Adopt-A-Doc scholarship from the Academy of Physical Therapy Education (APTE).  

Nancy Krisch
Nancy Krisch

Adopt-a-Doc is a national award started in 2000 by APTE to support degrees in physical therapy education. There are a maximum of three awards given out per year. The award includes a $3,000 scholarship to offset tuition or doctoral research costs and reimbursement of Academy annual dues for that year. The award is normally given in person at the APTE’s annual conference, but this year it was done virtually.

Krisch is a PhD candidate in the Curriculum, Instruction and Science of Learning Program in the Department of Learning and Instruction within the Graduate School of Education at University at Buffalo. Her dissertation working title is “Exploring Health Literacy in Entry-Level Physical Therapist Professional Curricula” — a mixed methods study that uses a self report survey of faculty and students related to consensus recommended health literacy practices to inform the qualitative strand, which consists of faculty and student interviews and analysis of curriculum documents. 

Krisch began teaching as an adjunct at Stony Brook in 2013 and received a full-time faculty appointment in 2016. In 2019, she became one of the directors of Clinical Education. She teaches Foundations of Inpatient Care and Neuroscience for Physical Therapy and is a lab instructor in Adult Neurological Assessment. Her primary scholarly interests include health literacy and optimizing communication between clinicians and patients. Her other varied interests include telehealth practice, interprofessional education, outcome measure properties and utilization, the use of simulation in healthcare education, and ongoing developments in concussion prevention, detection and treatment among youth athletes.

Previous recipients from Stony Brook who have won the award include Kyle Hewson in 2007, clinical associate professor and chair of Physical Therapy, and Susan Miale in 2019, clinical associate professor and director of Curriculum and Professional Development. Two other faculty received the award and have since moved on to other programs: Anita Santasier (2004) and Jamie Greco (2019).

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.