SBU News
SBU News > Academics > College of Arts & Sciences > Karena Chapman Receives Hanawalt Award for Research on Challenging Materials Problems

Karena Chapman Receives Hanawalt Award for Research on Challenging Materials Problems


ChapmanKarena Chapman, the Joseph Lauher and Frank W. Fowler Endowed Chair in Materials Chemistry at Stony Brook University, has received the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD) 2022 Hanawalt Awardfor her contributions in developing X-ray diffraction capabilities in the study of challenging materials problems in sustainable energy and environmental remediation.” 

“I am thrilled that Karena is selected as this year’s Hanawalt Award recipient,” said Nicole S. Sampson, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and distinguished professor of chemistry. “Since joining the Department of Chemistry several years ago as the inaugural Joseph Lauher and Frank W. Fowler Endowed Chair in Materials Chemistry, she has demonstrated significant excellence in the development of X-ray diffraction capabilities and beyond, and we are proud of her continued pioneering research efforts.”

“We are so proud of having Dr. Chapman as part of our Stony Brook University faculty,” said Monica Bugallo, interim provost, Stony Brook University. “This is a well-deserved recognition and reflects the impact of her outstanding work on functional materials with energy applications.”

“I am delighted that Professor Chapman has been awarded the 2022 Hanawalt Prize,” said Peter Tonge, distinguished professor and chair of the Department of Chemistry. “This award is an exceptional achievement and recognizes her role in developing approaches to study materials used in sustainable energy and environmental remediation. Professor Chapman is an outstanding member of our Department of Chemistry at Stony Brook, and I am privileged to have her as a colleague!”

Chapman’s research explores the relationship between structure and reactivity in functional materials with a focus on energy applications. Chapman studies how a material’s function and limitations are governed by its chemistry and structure, from the atomic scale to the nanoscale, and beyond. She uses a variety of crystallographic characterization tools to directly probe structural transformation during reactions or operation, often exploiting large X-ray and neutron user facilities such as the National Synchrotron Light Source II at Brookhaven National Laboratory. Ongoing projects focus on nanomaterials, energy-efficient catalysts, energy storage, host-guest interactions, and mechanical properties of porous framework and materials discovery and synthesis.

In 2016, Chapman was named Chemical & Engineering News’ Talented Twelve, and in 2015 she received the Materials Research Society Outstanding Young Investigator Award. 

The Hanawalt Award is named in honor of J. Donald Hanawalt, whose pioneering work in the 1930s led to the development of the PDF database structure and search/match procedures still in use today. The award recognizes distinguished, recent work in the field of powder diffraction and is presented every three years.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.