SBU News
SBU News > Faculty/Staff > Jeffrey Segal Elected to AAAS

Jeffrey Segal Elected to AAAS

Segal, Jeffrey (v) 2011
Jeffrey Segal

Distinguished Professor Jeffrey Segal, chair of the Department of Political Science at Stony Brook, has been elected to The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). The Academy has elected 220 new members, continuing a 230-plus year history of recognizing some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the AAAS is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

“This is an enormous honor to be voted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences,” said Segal. “I need to thank the Academy fellows for voting me in, my political science colleagues who have given me an extraordinary work environment for the past 30 years, and my family, for making all the successes worthwhile.”

“Jeffrey is one of the most regarded scholars and authors in his field,” said Provost Dennis N. Assanis. “His expertise on the Supreme Court and research into the decisions made during times of peace and war can potentially change how landmark decisions are viewed in the light of history. This is a great honor for Jeffrey, whose knowledge and expertise will be invaluable to the Academy.”

“Election to the Academy is both an honor for extraordinary accomplishment and a call to serve,” said Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”

The recipient of numerous honors and awards during his distinguished career, Segal received the Law and Courts Teaching and Mentoring Award in 2008 for innovative teaching and instructional methods and materials in law and courts, sponsored by the Division for Public Education of the American Bar Association. In 2011 he was named a Guggenheim fellow for his project, “Supreme Court Decision Making During Times of Crisis: 1793-2010.” Segal received his BA from the University at Albany and both his MA and PhD from Michigan State University.

Members of the 2012 class include winners of the National Medal of Science, the Lasker Award, the Pulitzer and the Shaw prizes, the Fields Medal; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; the Kennedy Center Honors; Grammy, Emmy, Academy, and Tony awards; the Avery Fisher Prize, and election to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 6 at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Alphabetical list of the new members

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.