SBU News
SBU News > Faculty/Staff > SBU Faculty Celebrated with New Honor Wall at Melville Library

SBU Faculty Celebrated with New Honor Wall at Melville Library

Faculty honor wall3 1

Following President Samuel L. Stanley’s State of the University Address in Staller Center on Wednesday, September 25, the new Faculty Honor Wall was formally dedicated in the Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library lobby. The wall acknowledges the contributions of our distinguished Stony Brook faculty.

Stony Brook’s tradition of faculty excellence includes three Nobel laureates and an Abel Prize winner. In last year’s State of the University address, President Stanley announced an initiative to honor the faculty who have done so much and brought such renown to the University.

The new Faculty Wall of Honor acknowledges distinguished faculty in the following categories:

Abel Prize Laureate

American Academy of Arts & Sciences

American Association for the Advancement of Science

American Philosophical Society

Fellows of the Royal Society

Fields Medal

Institute of Medicine

National Academy of Engineering

National Academy of Sciences

National Inventors Hall of Fame

National Medal of Science

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Nobel Prize

Pulitzer Prize

SUNY Distinguished Professors

“I hope this will serve as an inspiration to all of us and remind everyone of what a special place Stony Brook University is,” said President Stanley.

A complete listing of faculty members acknowledged on the wall is available on the website of the Office of the Vice President for Research.

Stony Brook also welcomed its new faculty at convocation ceremonies. Click here for the list of new faculty.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.