SBU News
SBU News > Faculty/Staff > Barry Florence Awarded for Excellence in Clinical Practice

Barry Florence Awarded for Excellence in Clinical Practice

Florencefbarry 1
Photo by Jeannie Neville
Photo by Jeannie Neville

F. Barry Florence, Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Director of the Stony Brook University Ambulatory Surgery Center, has been selected by his peers as the recipient of the 2010 Stony Brook University Physicians Award for Excellence in Clinical Practice. He was presented with this award at the Clinical Practice Management Plan (CPMP) Board of Directors meeting on November 17 at SBUMC by the Chair of the CPMP Board of Directors, Peter S.A. Glass, Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology.

“As Director of the Stony Brook University Ambulatory Surgery Center, Dr. Florence has created a unit that he has led by example; from the very moment patients enter the Ambulatory Surgery Center, they are treated with dignity and respect,” said Glass. “There is no greater vote of confidence in an individual’s excellence in clinical practice than a request by his peers,” added Glass, explaining that Florence’s exemplary professionalism is recognized by his peers and is accentuated daily as he is the most highly requested anesthesiologist by physicians and staff in need of surgery at the Ambulatory Surgery Center.

“I am truly honored to receive this award from my colleagues,” said Florence. “I put my heart into my work, and, in turn, each day I am rewarded by my experiences with patients, colleagues, and staff.”

Board certified in anesthesiology, Florence joined Stony Brook’s Department of Anesthesiology in July 2000. Prior to assuming his role at Stony Brook, he was head of pediatric anesthesia and associate medical director of the Bridgeport Surgical Center in Connecticut for more than10 years.

Established in 2009 under the auspices of the CPMP Practice Committee, the Physicians Award for Excellence in Clinical Practice recognizes a CPMP physician who exemplifies a sustained commitment to excellence in patient care. The selection committee, comprised of Practice Committee members, sought nominations of physicians who have demonstrated a productive clinical role, strong patient satisfaction, and collegial working relationships, as well as an engagement in delivering outstanding care to patients.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.