SBU News
SBU News > Stony Brook Matters > Alumni Chapters & Groups > 27 Faculty and Staff Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence

27 Faculty and Staff Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence


Twenty-seven of Stony Brook University’s esteemed faculty and staff members have received the 2019-2020 State University of New York (SUNY) Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence. These awards acknowledge the dedication and accomplishments of instructional faculty, librarians, and professional staff across SUNY campuses and encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. The awards are presented annually in seven categories including Librarianship, Scholarship and Creative Activities, Professional Service, Faculty Service, and Teaching. 

Featured campus“The SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence are an important acknowledgement of the tremendous talent I am honored to be surrounded by at Stony Brook University,” says University President Maurie McInnis. “I add my personal congratulations and note of appreciation to all of our 27 outstanding recipients for the 2019-20 Awards and look forward to significant accomplishments ahead.”

Michael Bernstein, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, adds, “The tremendous contributions of these 27 staff and faculty members are a testament to the excellence of our Stony Brook community. I extend my hearty congratulations to this year’s recipients on this well-deserved honor.” 

The following are the honorees from Stony Brook:

Excellence in Adjunct Teaching

Zachary Dowdy, Lecturer, School of Journalism
Jeffrey EcklundLe, Lecturer, Undergraduate Biology

Excellence in Classified Service

Lorraine Carroll, Office Assistant, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
LaShawne Jones, Administrative Assistant, Student Health Services/Infirmary
John Lomando, Recycling Specialist, Recycling and Resource Management/Facilities Operations

Excellence in Faculty Service 

Dr. Mary Jo Bona, Professor, Department of Women’s Gender and Sexuality Studies
Dr. M. Ete Chan-Lo, Research Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Dr. Marie Huffman, Department of Linguistics
Dr. Hoi-Chung Leung, Professor, Department of Psychology
Dr. Marcia Simon, Professor, Department of Oral Biology and Pathology

Excellence in Librarianship 

Yuet Clara Tran, Associate Librarian, Science Engineering Library

Excellence in Professional Service 

Charles Beier, Student University Assistant Director, Department of Activities and Facility
Joan D. Dickinson, Senior Staff Associate, Department of Government Relations
Diane Englot, Instructional Support Technician, Department of General Library Public Service
Jennifer L. Green, Senior Staff Assistant, Graduate School
Laura S. Hawryluk, Staff Associate, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Jessica L. Klare, Staff Associate, Department of Honors College
Jeremy D. Marchese, Staff Associate, Department of University Scholars
Elizabeth-Anne Tolson, Senior Staff Assistant, Department of European Languages
Donna Tumminello, Assistant Director, Department of Research Administration

Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities 

Dr. Carlos Simmerling, Professor, Laufer Center for Physical and Quantitative Biology
Dr. Jacobus Verbaarschot, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Excellence in Teaching 

Camille Abbruscato, Lecturer, College of Business
Dr. Michelle Ballan, Professor, School of Social Welfare
Dr. Steven Glynn, Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry
Dr. Sohl Lee, Assistant Professor, Department of Art
Dr. Marci Lobel, Professor, Department of Psychology

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.