SBU News
SBU News > Awards and Honors > 18 Faculty/Staff Receive SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

18 Faculty/Staff Receive SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

Campus 1 1

Eighteen members of Stony Brook University’s faculty and staff have been chosen to receive the 2016 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in the following categories:


Excellence in Faculty Service:
Richard Gerrig, Professor, Department of Psychology
Lori Repetti, Professor, Department of Linguistics
Styliani-Anna Tsirka, Professor, Department of Pharmacological Sciences

Excellence in Professional Service:
Ginny Clancy, Program Coordinator, Sustainability Studies Program
Kimberly Joy Dixon, Assistant Director, Career Center
Nathan Leoce-Schappin, Administrator, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Kathryne Piazzola, Advancement Specialist, Office of the Vice President for Research

Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities:
Alexander M. Orlov, Associate Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Martin Rocek, Professor, Institute for Theoretical Physics
Jadranka Skorin-Kapov, Professor, College of Business
Thomas Weinacht, Professor, Department of Physics

Excellence in Teaching:
John Bailyn, Professor, Department of Linguistics
Yuefan Deng, Professor, Department of Applied Mathematics
Edward Feldman, Director of Behavioral Medicine and President of the University Faculty Senate
Angela M. Kelly, Associate Professor, Department of Physics, PhD in Science Education Program

Excellence in Classified Service:
Yadira Fernandez, University Custodial Staff
Jay Levenson, University Libraries
Laura Stevenson, College of Arts and Sciences

The group will be honored at the annual University Awards Dinner, which will be held on October 13; each will receive a certificate and a Chancellor’s Excellence Medallion to commemorate this prestigious selection.

“The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence is our way of saying ‘thank you’ to the many faculty across our university system who have gone above and beyond as they educate, mentor, and conduct research alongside our students, as well as the staff whose service to SUNY is of the highest caliber,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher. “It is an honor to recognize the excellent work across the SUNY system. Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients.”

The honor provides system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Individuals selected for this honor are role models within the SUNY community.

A complete listing of this year’s honorees is available online.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.