SBU News
SBU News > Awards and Honors > 16 SBU Faculty and Staff Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence

16 SBU Faculty and Staff Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence


Sixteen of Stony Brook University’s esteemed faculty and staff have received the 2017-2018 State University of New York Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence. A total of 332 faculty and staff from across the SUNY system received awards this year.

“Excellence is SUNY’s hallmark,” said State University of New York Chancellor Kristina M. Johnson. “At each of our campuses it is driven by our faculty and staff and their commitment to providing the highest quality environment, where students are inspired and supported to excel as they pursue their passions. I congratulate this year’s recipients, and thank them for their contributions.”

The Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence are presented annually to faculty and staff in seven categories: Faculty Service, Librarianship, Professional Service, Scholarship and Creative Activities, Teaching, Adjunct in Teaching, and Classified Service. The honor provides system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence.

The following are the award recipients from Stony Brook:

Excellence in Faculty Service
Joanne Davila, Professor, Department of Psychology

Excellence in Librarianship
Darren Chase, Associate Librarian, Head of Scholarly Communication
Jennifer DeVito, Assistant Librarian, Head of Access Services

Excellence in Professional Service
Nikki Barnett, Assistant Director of Alumni Career Services, Career Center
Lois H. Carter, Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences
Kathy Germana, Assistant to the Chair, Department of Computer Science
Charles Robbins, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, Dean of Undergraduate Colleges
Mark Wiggins, Building Manager, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities
Abhay Deshpande, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Dimitris Samaras, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science
Stanislaus Wong, Professor, Department of Chemistry

Excellence in Teaching
Sharon Pochron, Lecturer, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

Excellence in Adjunct in Teaching
Catherine Cammarata, Department of Theatre Arts
Nancee Moes, Department of Theatre Arts

Excellence in Classified Service
Dianna Berger, Graduate Program Coordinator, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Joyce Guglielmo, Office Manager, Career Center

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest Stories