SBU News
SBU News > Faculty/Staff > 11 SBU Faculty and Staff Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

11 SBU Faculty and Staff Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

Eleven members of Stony Brook University’s faculty and staff have been chosen to receive the 2014 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in the following categories:

Excellence in Faculty Service: Harvard Lyman, Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, and John Robinson, Professor, Department of Psychology

Excellence in Professional Service: Bushra Butt, Subject Specialist, Stony Brook University Libraries; Kathleen Diehl, Supervisor, Accounting Services; and David McAvoy, Manager, Transportation and Parking Operations

Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities: Peter Carravetta, Alfonse D’Amato Chair in Italian and Italian American Studies; Alfred Scharff Goldhaber, Professor, C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics, Department of Physics and Astronomy; Chang Jung, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy; and John Shea, Professor, Department of Anthropology

Excellence in Teaching: Nancy Hollingsworth, Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, and Jaymie Meliker, Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine, Program in Public Health

The group will be honored at the annual University Awards Dinner in the fall; each will receive a certificate and a Chancellor’s Excellence Medallion to commemorate this prestigious selection.

“Faculty and staff who receive the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence have served their students, fellow faculty and staff, campuses, and communities with the utmost distinction,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher. “It is a great honor to be able to recognize Bushra Butt, Peter Carravetta, Kathleen Diehl, Alfred Scharff Goldhaber, Nancy Hollingsworth, Chang Jung, Harvard Lyman, David McAvoy, Jaymie Meliker, John Robinson and John Shea at Stony Brook University with this award. Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees across New York State.”

The honor provides system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Through these awards, SUNY publicly acknowledges the accomplishment and personal dedication of its instructional faculty, librarians and staff across its 64 campuses and System Administration. 
Individuals selected for this honor are role models within the SUNY community.

Click here for a complete listing of this year’s honorees.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


SBU on Instagram