SBU News
SBU News > Stony Brook Matters > Medicine Today > School of Medicine Class Notes

School of Medicine Class Notes

2019 Class Notes

Eloise Chapman-Davis MD ’04 was named as 2019 Outstanding Recent Graduate for Renaissance School of Medicine.

Ron Garry ’92 MD ’96 is the subsection Chief of Geriatrics and is the current President of the Florida Geriatric Society.

Faina Gelman-Nisanov ’10, MD ’14 is an OBGYN practicing in New York City at NYU.

Jadry Gruen MD ’07 will be acting Chief Resident of Quality and Safety at the West Haven VA medical center in 2020.  In this role, he will be an active learner and participant of quality improvement at the VA hospital while also leading QI learning and initiatives among internal medicine residents at Yale New Haven Hospital.

Lauren Maloney ’12, MD ’16, a chief resident in the Department of Emergency Medicine (EM), has received two national Emergency Medicine awards at the Society of Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) Annual Conference held in Las Vegas, NV, May 14 through May 17: Resident Educator Award and RAMS Excellence in Research Award. 

Cheryl Moss-Mellman ’83, MD ’87 is Director of Clinical Breast Services at the Christine Lynn Women’s Health and Wellness Institute, Boca Raton Regional Hospital.

Ashley Perrott MD ’04 moved from 100% Clinical medicine to a Submarket Role for Community Medicine with Novant Health.  She still sees patients, but enjoys helping to mold the future of Community Medicine through the organization through this Physician Leadership role.

Alicia Stovell Washington MD ’88 was named 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, Renaissance School of Medicine.

Guy Young MD ’92 has published a medical mystery novel, “Bad Blood” available on

2018 Class Notes 

Stan Arkow ’73 is a Medical Director, Inpatient & ED Psychiatry at Columbia University Medical Center.  He is also an Associate Professor of Psychiatry at Columbia University Medical Center.

Dr. Nick Fitterman ’84 has been named the new executive director of Huntington Hospital by Northwell Health. He was the Vice Chair of Medicine at Northwell and previously he was the Head of Hospitalists at Huntington Hospital.

Lauren Ferrante, MD ’07 was presented with the Outstanding Recent Graduate Award during the School of Medicine’s White Coat Ceremony on August 12. Dr. Ferrante is an assistant professor of pulmonology and critical care medicine at Yale School of Medicine.

Ramon Parsons, MD/PhD ’92 was presented with the 2018 School of Medicine Distinguished Alumnus Award and recognized for his distinguished career as a cancer researcher. He is the director of the Tisch Cancer Institute at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Duane Webb MD ’74 was promoted to chief of gastroenterology in May 2017, Olympic Medical Physicians, Sequim, WA.

Samantha D’Annunzio MD ’11 became an attending physician in pulmonary critical care with Westmed Medical Group and Greenwich Hospital.

Adam Wos MD ’01 was appointed medical director of the Emergency Department at Mather Hospital.

Lauren Ferrante, MD ’07 received the 2018 Stony Brook School of Medicine Outstanding Recent Graduate Award.

Justin Steele, MD ’02 has joined New York-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital in its Department of Surgery. Dr. Steele specializes in robotic surgery, hepatobiliary-pancreatic and complex abdominal hernia surgery.

Neil Yager, MD ’05, an interventional cardiologist, has joined Albany Medical Center’s Division of Cardiology and has been appointed assistant professor of cardiology at Albany Medical College.

Eva Chalas, MD ’81 was presented with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award by Marquis Who’s Who.

Yan Leyfman ’11 is one of only 16 nationwide and one of the first medical students to be invited to give a keynote podium presentation at the 2017 ASCO Symposium — the largest and most prestigious oncology conference in the world.

Ami Shah, MD ’94 is a board-certified radiologist and director of mammography and women’s imaging at New York City Health and Hospitals. She was featured in an AMA article this past December.

2017 Class Notes

James Gasperino ’99 has recently become the chair of the Department of Medicine, and vice president for Critical Care, Perioperative and Hospitalist Medicine, as well as associate chief medical officer at The Brooklyn Hospital Center. He is also senior faculty at Mount Sinai Health System.

Evelyn Marienberg ’88  was named one of Newsday’s Top Doctors for Radiation Oncology in July 2017.

Janet Martino ’83 is an independent consultant in Healthcare Information Technology.

Jay Motola ’82 has been a part of the Department of Urology at Mount Sinai for the last 3 years and is presently the president-elect for the New York section of the American Urological Association. He will become president in May 2018.

Steven Sanderson ’16 is currently working on a readmissions reduction team for the DSRIP MAX Series project at Brookhaven Hospital Medical Center. He is working on consulting work for SQL Queries, SSRS, SSAS and Tableau KPI dashboard building for hospital finance departments.

Dean Sheppard ’75 was elected to membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Related Posts

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to News

Get the latest word on Stony Brook news, discoveries and people.


Get the latest word on Stony Brook news,
discoveries and people.